Harvey AI Alternatives for Indian Law Firms (2026): India-Built and Global Options Compared
As of 5 October 2026, the Harvey AI alternatives with real Indian law-firm adoption are Legora (Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas, Chandhiok & Mahajan) and the Bengaluru-built Lucio (Trilegal, S&R Associates, Bombay Law Chambers). Research-first options are SCC Online AI Pro, Manupatra, Lexis Advance with Protégé and CaseMine AMICUS. Only Lucio states a per-user price for an AI product, and only Lucio says it has no seat minimum.
Harvey is a strong product, and for India's largest firms it is a reasonable first choice. The case for looking elsewhere is narrower than most "alternatives" lists make it: the reported seat minimum, a price built for US labour costs, and no India data-processing region on Harvey's published list. This page compares the options on the four things that decide it for an Indian firm: rupee cost, Indian legal content, where data is processed, and who in India already uses it.
Disclosure: Lawgix AI, which publishes this blog, also sells legal AI to Indian law firms. We are listed in the table on the same terms as everyone else, and nothing here comes from a paid placement.
Key facts: Harvey AI and its alternatives in India, as of 5 October 2026
USD figures converted at ₹96.15 per US dollar (Wise mid-market, 4 October 2026). "Reported" means a third party stated the figure, not the vendor.
| Product | Built in | Indian legal content | Price (INR) | Seat minimum | Data processing regions stated | Named Indian law-firm users | Verified on |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Harvey | US (Bengaluru office since July 2025) | SCC Online integration: case law, statutes, regulations (announced 15 Jan 2026) | Quote only. Reported US$1,200/seat/month ≈ ₹13.85 lakh/seat/year | Reported 20–50 seats, 12 months | US, EU, Australia. No India region listed | SAM (all 7 offices), AZB & Partners | 5 Oct 2026 |
| Legora | Sweden | Exclusive Manupatra content partnership (20 Jan 2026) | Quote only. Reported ≈ US$3,000/user/year ≈ ₹2.88 lakh | Reported about 10 seats (≈ ₹28.85 lakh/year floor) | Not found on public pages | Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas, Chandhiok & Mahajan | 5 Oct 2026 |
| Lucio | India (Bengaluru) | Not stated on its site; plans "model work, built specifically for Indian legal tasks" | Homepage FAQ: flat US$149/user/month ≈ ₹14,326 (₹1.72 lakh/year). Pricing page: "Get started to see pricing" | None, per its FAQ | Not stated. SOC 2 Type II, ISO 27001:2022; lists DPDP Act | Trilegal, S&R Associates, Triumvir Law, Bombay Law Chambers, Bharucha & Partners | 5 Oct 2026 |
| CoCounsel (Thomson Reuters) | US | India page names Westlaw Edge UK, no Indian case-law corpus | Quote only. Reported US$104–784/user/month ≈ ₹1.20–9.05 lakh/year | Not published for India | Not found for India | None found | 30 Sep 2026 |
| Lexis Advance with Protégé (LexisNexis) | US/UK, India launch 11 Apr 2026 | LexisNexis India content; Case Analysis India | Quote only; "varies based on… size of your organisation" | Not published | Not found | None found | 28 Sep 2026 |
| SCC Online AI Pro | India | SCC Online database ("65+ lakh judgments, statutes and articles") | Not published | Not published | Not found; says queries never train AI models | None named | 28 Sep 2026 |
| Manupatra (incl. ManuWorks.ai) | India | Manupatra database | Research plans ₹14,250–₹55,460/year + GST (5 AI summaries a month); ManuWorks.ai quote only | Enterprise quote only | Not found | None named | 28 Sep 2026 |
| CaseMine AMICUS | India | Supreme Court, all High Courts, tribunals and commissions | AI features need a subscription; no price published. Core search is free | Not published | Not stated; ISO 27001:2022; data "never used to train external models" | None named | 5 Oct 2026 |
| SpotDraft (contracts, in-house teams) | India/US (Bengaluru and New York) | Contract review against your own playbooks, not case law | Quote only. Vendr median ≈ US$25,278/year ≈ ₹24.3 lakh per contract | Not published | VerifAI can run fully on-device on supported laptops | Not a law-firm tool | 5 Oct 2026 |
| Lawgix AI (us) | India (New Delhi) | Indian Acts and judgments, with citations to check | Priced on the work agreed after scoping | None | Not stated on our site; zero data retention; client data never trains shared models | — | 5 Oct 2026 |
Three things stand out. Both global leaders have now bought access to an Indian research database, Harvey through SCC Online and Legora through Manupatra, so "no Indian corpus" is no longer a fair criticism of either. Only one vendor states a per-user price for an AI product. And not one vendor in this table publishes an India data-processing region.
What is Harvey actually good at, for an Indian firm?
Harvey is built for large, firm-wide rollouts, and its Indian references are the two largest in the market. Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas rolled it out across all seven offices in June 2025 and states it has over 1,000 lawyers. AZB & Partners followed in September 2025.
Since January 2026, Harvey users can pick SCC Online as a knowledge source and query Indian case law, statutes and regulatory material next to their own documents. Harvey's release note of 21 May 2026 describes it as letting users "conduct Indian legal research directly in Harvey". Neither the announcement nor the release note says whether a separate SCC Online subscription is needed. Ask.
If your firm has a hundred or more lawyers, a large transactional practice and a budget measured in crores, Harvey belongs on the shortlist. Get the quote.
Why do Indian firms look for Harvey alternatives?
Mostly because of the seat minimum, not the product. Harvey publishes no prices. The most-repeated reported figure is US$1,200 per seat per month on a 20-seat, 12-month minimum: about ₹2.77 crore a year before anyone has used it. The full breakdown is in Harvey AI pricing in India.
Three further reasons come up:
- The price was set for US labour costs. One reported Harvey seat (₹13.85 lakh a year) costs about as much as a fresher associate at a top Indian firm. In the US, the same seat is a small fraction of an associate's cost.
- Data location. Harvey's published processing regions are the US, the EU and Australia (release note of 31 July 2025). India is not on the list. That does not make Harvey unusable, but it means client data leaves India, and your engagement letters and client policies need to allow for that.
- Practice mix. Litigation-heavy and regional practices need High Court and tribunal coverage and drafting in Indian formats more than they need a global platform.
Which global alternatives do Indian firms use?
Legora is the only global alternative with named Indian law-firm rollouts. CoCounsel and Lexis+ AI are sold in India but have no named Indian firm deployments we could find.
- Legora. Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas chose it on 24 July 2025 after a pilot of three AI platforms with 380 lawyers. Chandhiok & Mahajan announced a firm-wide rollout on 5 February 2026, citing "relevance to Indian law". On 20 January 2026 Legora signed an exclusive partnership with Manupatra, making it "the only legal AI platform" with Manupatra content inside it. Legora publishes no prices. One buyer guide reports about US$3,000 per user per year with a minimum of around 10 seats, which works out to roughly ₹28.85 lakh a year for the smallest contract. That is about a tenth of Harvey's reported entry point.
- CoCounsel (Thomson Reuters). No India price, and the India page names Westlaw Edge UK rather than an Indian corpus. The next-generation CoCounsel Legal launched on 20 August 2026 is available in the US, with the UK, Canada and Australia to follow; India is not named. Details in CoCounsel pricing in India.
- Lexis Advance with Protégé. LexisNexis launched Protégé in India on 11 April 2026 as a standalone AI product, with fuller integration into its content described as coming "in the near future". Prices are quote-only.
Which India-built alternatives are there?
Lucio is the India-built option with the most named law-firm customers. SCC Online, Manupatra and CaseMine are research databases that have added AI.
- Lucio (Bengaluru) raised US$5 million led by DeVC in October 2025 and says it has 3,000+ lawyers at 200+ organisations in nine jurisdictions. Indian firms that have announced it include Trilegal (November 2024), S&R Associates, Triumvir Law and Bombay Law Chambers (September 2025). On 17 September 2026 it launched Elevate, which produces finished documents rather than chat answers. Its homepage FAQ states "a flat $149 monthly per user" with no seat minimum, about ₹1.72 lakh a year. Its pricing page asks you to sign up first, so confirm the figure in writing.
- SCC Online AI Pro and Manupatra start from the research database and add AI on top. They suit firms whose main AI use is research rather than drafting or review. Manupatra is the only vendor here with published rupee prices, but those are research plans with five AI summaries a month, not an AI product. See legal AI pricing in India.
- CaseMine AMICUS gives conversational research, summaries, argument generation and drafting on top of CaseMine's Supreme Court, High Court and tribunal coverage. Core search is free. The AI features need a subscription, and no price is published.
- SpotDraft is a contract tool for in-house teams, not a litigation or research platform. It matters here because its VerifAI review can run entirely on the user's laptop, which removes the data-location question for contract review.
- jhana works mainly with courts and government (it names the High Courts of Karnataka, Gujarat and Madras) and reports 16,150+ lawyers using it. It publishes no prices.
How do DPDP and data location change the choice?
The Digital Personal Data Protection Act's main duties apply from May 2027, so contracts signed now will run into them. The DPDP Rules were notified on 13 November 2025, and the substantive obligations take effect 18 months after that. Section 16 lets the Central Government restrict transfers of personal data to countries it notifies, so ask each vendor what happens if a region it uses is restricted.
Separately, an advocate's duty of confidentiality and the professional-communications privilege in section 132 of the Bharatiya Sakshya Adhiniyam, 2023 apply whatever the vendor's location. Our post on what rules govern an Indian advocate's use of AI covers those duties, and the AI rules in Indian courts tracker covers court-level policies on disclosing AI use.
In practice, put three things in the contract: where data is processed and stored, that it is never used for training, and how deletion works when the contract ends.
Which alternative fits which kind of firm?
Start with firm size and what you want the AI to do. The vendor follows from that.
| Your firm | Main use | Shortlist to test |
|---|---|---|
| 100+ lawyers, transactional core | Firm-wide drafting, review, research | Harvey, Legora |
| 30–100 lawyers, mixed practice | Drafting and document review with Indian research | Legora, Lucio |
| 5–40 lawyers, litigation-heavy | Research, chronologies, pleadings | SCC Online AI Pro, Manupatra, CaseMine, Lucio |
| In-house legal team | Contract review against playbooks | SpotDraft, Lucio |
| Any size, one repeated workflow (e.g. RERA complaints, GST notice replies, title due diligence) | One process, end to end | A workflow build such as Lawgix AI, or Lucio |
Our view: a 20-lawyer Indian firm should not be comparing per-seat prices for a firm-wide platform. It should pick the two or three workflows that take the most associate hours and price those.
What should you test before you buy?
Test every shortlisted tool on the same matter, with citations checked by hand.
- Run three real research questions, one each on Supreme Court, High Court and tribunal law, and open every citation.
- Ask each vendor for the total annual price in rupees for your headcount, with GST and the seat minimum shown separately.
- Get processing and storage locations, training use and deletion terms in the contract.
- Ask whether the Indian content (SCC Online, Manupatra or the vendor's own) costs extra or needs a separate subscription.
- Check what the tool does when it cannot find an authority. It should say so, not invent one.
Change log
- 5 October 2026: published. Rows checked on the dates shown; rate ₹96.15/USD.
We re-check this page monthly and whenever a vendor announces an India price, region or content deal. If we have missed a published figure, write to contact@bitvyas.com with the link.
Related
- Legal AI pricing in India (2026): the pillar, with every published and reported price
- Harvey AI pricing in India
- CoCounsel pricing in India
- What rules govern an Indian advocate's use of AI
- How Lawgix AI prices its work · Security at Lawgix AI
Sources
- Harvey, "Harvey Partners with SCC Online" (15 January 2026) — harvey.ai; release note "SCC Online integration" (21 May 2026) — help.harvey.ai
- Harvey, release note on Australia data processing (31 July 2025) — help.harvey.ai
- Bar & Bench, "Harvey AI announces opening of Bengaluru office" — barandbench.com
- Shardul Amarchand Mangaldas, Harvey rollout (3 June 2025) — amsshardul.com; Bar & Bench on AZB & Partners — barandbench.com
- Legora, "Cyril Amarchand Mangaldas selects Legora" (24 July 2025) — legora.com; "Chandhiok & Mahajan rolls out Legora firm-wide" (5 February 2026) — legora.com; Bar & Bench — barandbench.com
- Artificial Lawyer, "Legora partners with Indian legal data company Manupatra" (20 January 2026) — artificiallawyer.com
- Layer 3 Labs, "Legora pricing" (updated 22 July 2026) — layer3labs.io
- Lucio, homepage and FAQ — lucioai.com; pricing page — lucioai.com/pricing; Business Wire, "Lucio raises $5M" (6 October 2025) — businesswire.com; SupremeToday AI on Elevate (17 September 2026) — supremetoday.ai
- Trilegal, "Trilegal partners with Lucio" (29 November 2024) — trilegal.com; Bar & Bench, "Bombay Law Chambers integrates Lucio" (1 September 2025) — barandbench.com
- CaseMine, FAQ — casemine.com
- TechCrunch, "Qualcomm backs SpotDraft" (26 January 2026) — techcrunch.com; Bind, SpotDraft pricing 2026, citing Vendr — bindlegal.com
- jhana — jhana.ai
- CoCounsel, Lexis Advance with Protégé, SCC Online AI Pro and Manupatra figures and sources — see legal AI pricing in India and CoCounsel pricing in India
- AZB & Partners, "India's Digital Personal Data Protection Act: phased rollout and key compliance milestones" (14 November 2025) — azbpartners.com
- Digital Personal Data Protection Act, 2023, section 16 — India Code
- Wise, USD→INR mid-market rate history — wise.com
Every dollar figure is attributed to the vendor or third party that stated it. Every rupee figure for a dollar price is arithmetic at ₹96.15/USD and moves with the rate. Lawgix AI is also a legal AI vendor. This is general information, not legal advice.